Thom Yorke and Friends Talk Atoms For Peace

The musicians who make up Atoms For Peace are an unusual bunch on the face of it, but when you hear their music, it all makes sense. The rhythm is so intense and the way it mixes/clashes with all the electronic sounds is pretty thrilling.

Thom Yorke pulled the group together to support his 2006 solo album The Eraser. It includes Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Brazilian percussionist Mauro Refosco (he's played with the Red Hot Chili Peppers as well) and then drummer Joey Waronker, who has played with R.E.M., Elliott Smith and Beck.

Now Atoms For Peace has its own record, called Amok, coming out at the end of February. This past summer, Thom, Nigel and Joey were in New York City. While they were there, we spoke to them from our studios in Washington, D.C., and now you can listen to that rather casual conversation about many matters, from how the group makes its music to why shy people are attracted to DJing.

Comments are closed.

Sign up for the DADA Newsletter