The DADA Scholarship Awards and Exhibition

The Edith Baker Art Scholarship Fund

To celebrate its 20th anniversary in 2005, DADA created The Edith Baker Art Scholarship Fund, a 501(c)(3), honoring Edith Baker a respected member of the Dallas art community and one of its founding members.  Edith owned and directed The Edith Baker Gallery in Dallas for nearly 30 years before retiring in 2004. The Scholarship benefits Booker T. Washington High School seniors pursuing the study of visual arts.  The award includes a professional exhibition of the winning works of art, awards reception and the opportunity for a DADA internship.

The Steven L. Green and Kenneth R. Craighead Jr. Fund for Arts and Education

In 2013, additional funds were generously added to the Scholarship Awards by The Steven L. Green and Kenneth R. Craighead Jr. Fund for Arts and Education. Gallery owner Kenneth Craighead, and partner Steve Green, opened The Craighead Green Gallery in 1992 and it is recognized as one of the finest contemporary art galleries throughout Texas and the Southwest, representing over 40 artists of all mediums.

The DADA Excellence in Art Award

In 2016 DADA added the DADA Excellence in Art Award sponsored by a Friend or Patron.  The 2017 DADA Excellence in Art Award is provided by contributions made by friends, members and you.

The goal is to give young artists the opportunity for recognition, exhibition and scholarships. This juried exhibition features thirteen finalists from among Booker T. Washington High School’s best visual art students. The selection process was based on artistic originality, expression, technique, presentation and evidence of personal vision or voice.

2019 Texas Visual Arts Association – TVAA Award

2019 Artists – Alexis Aguilar, Payton LaGrone, Maddie Olsen, Leah Lara, Jeson Aviles, Katie Schuldenberg, Isabella Bruner, Ari Medina, Izzy Brown and Elisabeth Vaughn

Please support the 2020 Scholarship Awards and donate now.

*The Edith Baker Art Scholarship and Artist Career Development Fund is a tax exempt non-profit organization under Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Sign up for the DADA Newsletter