2nd Santorini Biennale – Peace Mechanisms 2014 -Awards winners


The Santorini Biennale Committee is proud to announce the 2014 IBEX award recipients for the 2nd edition.

We were tremendously impressed by the quality, dynamism and originality of the projects submitted, because they addressed so many important and contentious issues examining different points of view about peace, war, conflicts & controversies and acceptance of differences.

In a turbulent era in which we face radical and potentially destructive changes on so many fronts, artists of the 2nd edition played an indispensable role in suggesting possible solutions thanks to their intelligence, diligence, determination and vision.

After a 3 months exhibition of “social messages” and collecting 7082 votes from the public, the Organizing Committee is proud to announce the IBEX 2014 winners:

1st Winners: Yiota Ioannidou, Andreas Paraskeva, Andreas Makariou, Charis Paspallis, Demetris Makariou and Marouso Laouraki. ARTdeFACT Art Group from Cyprus.
Artwork title: “depARTure”, installation.

2nd Winner: David Bartholomeo from France.
Artwork: “War Games”, mini installations.

3rd Winner: Fabrizio Passarella – RETROPHUTURE from Italy.
Artwork: “The last train from occupied Europe”, video, electronic music & graphics.

Afrodite Papadouli (Greece), Anas Homsi (Syria), Andrea Chantal Barthélémy (France), Andreas Makariou (Cyprus), Andreas Paraskeva (Cyprus), Andrew Petras (Greece), Ann CT Braunsteiner (New Zealand), Benal Dikmen (Turkey), Cella + Klaus – KNOLL, MFA Team (Honolulu, Usa), Charalampos Demetriou (Cyprus), Charis Paspalis (Cyprus), Christos Diamàntis (Greece), Daniel Kukla (Usa), David Bartholomeo (France), Demetris Makariou (Cyprus), Dimitra Skandali (Greece), Dowa Khaled Hattem (Egypt), Elena Kyrtsi (Greece), Emma Papadopoulos (Greece), Fabrizio Passarella – Retrophuture (Italy), Gulsah Mursaroglu (Turkey), Hans-Joachim Bauer (Germany), Hans-Michael Bittner (Austria), Hela Ammar (Tunisia), Eleni Tsotsorou (Greece), Immanuel Rodriguez Mazon (Mexico), Ioni Gliati (Greece), Ippokratis Alexiou (Greece), Irini Andritsi – Titania (Greece), Irini Drossou – Aerienirti (Greece), Jelena Jovancov (Montenegro), John K. Melvin (Usa), Jonathan Ikpoza (Nigeria), Julie Nakazi (Syria), Junichiro Iwase (Canada), Katerina Ioannidou (Greece), Kiki Gerontaki (Greece), Liliana Papadopoulou (Greece), Lynne Roberts – Goodwin (Australia), Marilena Argyropoulou (Greece), Marina Dimitriou (Greece), Marouso Laouraki (Greece), Nellie Gavroglou (Greece), Nikos Koulakiotis (Greece), Nirit Zer (Israel), Sha Feng (China), Sophia Tsoumaki (Greece), Yiota Ioannidou (Cyprus).

Artistic director: Kikos Papadopoulos
Curator: Gregory Frangos

Comments are closed.

Sign up for the DADA Newsletter